The Vita has no games

Today is a sad day in the Vita’s history. Today marks the ten year anniversary of the PlayStation Vita and simultaneously the last day that physical releases are being sold commercially. We have spoken a few times on here that this might not necessarily be the end. There are a few Japanese games which are reported to release before the end of the year. Limited Run has promised Revenge Of The Bird King for as long as I can remember but with no word on if the hype is real. Then of course Nicalis the villians of gaming, have been hiding away copies of The Binding of Isaac, VVVVVV, and 1001 Spikes and will literally not tell anyone what they did with them.

The first game is Mooseman a game available on other platforms, but not digitally on Vita. It has a beautiful look and feel to it and strong cultural associations. I actually really liked the look of this my only disappointment being the seemingly one hour play time. Even though I am a HUGE Vita nut I actually don’t pick up every Vita title, but as I’ve never played this one I’m still uncertain whether I’ll pick it up too.

The second A Winter’s Daydream is available digitally and actually I already played it. I actually really quite liked it, but be warned that it has no gameplay. It is a pure visual novel and only three hours long. While I don’t think that the length of a game should always feature into value for money and I definitely did like this game it’s something for you all to consider.

Naturally for me this is not the end of my journey. I have over 500 vita games and I have only completed half of them. While I have covered a LOT of recommendations and language options on Vita games there is still infinite more to do. I love the Vita and that will continue whether game production does or not.

Thank you #VitaIsland. Thank you for the ten years of joy. Don’t worry. There’s still a long road for us left.

Leave a comment