PlayStation Vita Recommends – Romance

ROGUE-LIKE

METROIDVANIA

RPGS

VISUAL NOVELS

RHYTHM

Horror

As I let everyone know some horror favourites in October I thought it would be pretty on brand to recommend romantic games in February. This is the genre the Vita was practically made for in Japan so for the purposes of this list I won’t be naming Japanese only games, especially as they are text heavy and often only offered in Japanese. Due to my often tragic love life this is a genre which is close to my heart, and as such my knowledge of these games creates my own little niche. So follow me into the wild world of romance.

The Usual

Code: Realize

It just wouldn’t be an article of mine if it didn’t start out with an otome game, and this series is certainly one of the most popular. There are three releases on Vita but the main game Guardians Of Rebirth should be played first as this is the actual story. The other two add texture with extra mini stories surrounding all the characters. The reason Code; Realize wins king of the otomes, is because the world and story are so rich with steampunk Victorian london style and fantasy that you can more than enjoy them even if you don’t care for hunky historical suitors.

Stardew Valley

I always like surprising people with my recommendations and while Stardew Valley fits the bill perfectly if you think about it. It’s one of the most popular games on Vita and combines farming with dating elements. What I love in particular about recommending Stardew Valley as a romance game is that you don’t particularly fall in love with you chosen wife/husband even with those weird toddlers you pop out. What you do fall in love with is the valley itself. Repopulating the community centre, and attending the seasonal events creates a connection deeper than to any one pixel person. That is love.

Muv Luv

With love in the title it’s not surprising it makes the top of the list. Romance is one of the main components of Muv Luv and its sequel Muv Luv Alternative is choosing which classmate you are going to romance. The first entry is quite a simple slice of life, but the second goes in hard with the post apocalyptic mech based action. While the characters are delightful for me the best part of the whole shebang was the ending. The ending of the trilogy. It will take some time but it’s worth getting there.

The Unusual

Sweet Fuse: At Your Side

Sweet Fuse isn’t the best ever otome, but it is both extremely good and easy to overlook in the Vita library as one of the PSP classics. I discovered this gem when I tweeted “Make an otome but its Danganronpa” and some kind soul recommended this. Featuring a MegaMan’s creator Keiji Inafune as a self insert Mary Sue, it really is quite wild, and while not reaching the dizzying heights of the teenage murder game, it still makes a very good time.

Root Letter

Root Letter touched my heart so much more as a long term resident of Japan. The attention to detail in recreating the small town is unparalleled in other games. I have the special edition which game a lot of background on the making of, and how the team went to the location to recreate it. The details paid off. You play as a man searching for his high school pen pal, who one day disappeared. Prizing things out of the people who used to know her its a beautifully revealing onion of a mystery.

Utawarerumono

There are three Utawarerumono games on the vita and they are absolutely high quality. A mix of strategy RPG, and visual novel with move waifus in them than you could hold in both arms there is no way you could be disappointed by the selection here. What I like in particular is that you bond with waifus through their power to battle, much like how Final Fantasy VII’s best girl is clearly Tifa because of the power soul. Of course there is also far more to the story but it the gameplay which really sets this one apart.

Persona 3 Portable

The Persona games don’t really need introducing and yet I can’t stop myself. Persona 3 is one of the best Persona games and ruthlessly continues to be overlooked. It has a great story, the best music, the best characters, and a dog with a knife. YES A DOG WITH A KNIFE. And what is better still is the this is one of only 2 Persona games with gay romance options. (The first being Persona 2 Innocent Sin trivia hunters). Whoever you are, and whoever you want to romance, P3P has the option for you. Playing as the male protagonist I originally romanced Yuko before dumping her and picking Fuuka. In my leaving scene with her she ACKNOWLEDGED IT. It was something along the lines of “I know you met someone else. But it’s okay. I’m going to keep working on myself and I’m sure I’ll win you back one day.” The girl gave so much energy she won me back that day. Persona 3 gets points for making you actually choose partners with consequences and not walk around like the countryside’s only gigolo.

Other Recommendations

Unusal for me but I have broken down the remaining romance titles by type.

Yuri/Lesbian

Two excellent series for this on Vita Yumeutsutsu and Nurse Love. For the first series the main game Re:Master is the main story and the fan disc Re:After is a bit light. For the second I think the sequel Addiction trumps the first game Syndrome but I would recommend both. VA-11 Hall-A is also a delightful visual novel but be aware it’s light on gameplay.

Blue Reflection is a great RPG with queer undertones. There are also Senran Kagura games, Gun Gun Pixies, and Hyper:Dimension Neptunia games which are very popular and feature lesbian romances. However, I haven’t played them personally. Blurring the lines a little bit I would recommend Rabi Ribi as a great metroidvania, with a lesbian rabbit as the protagonist. Alone With You is also a cute point and click game with both queer and straight romance options.

Bishojo/Hetero Boys

People will know that I think the Vita is a girl’s console so there is a little less for men here. Monster Monpiece is an interesting card deck builder, but would stretch the definition of romance if I tell you the romantic elements involve rubbing cards vigorously to remove their clothes and level up. Punchline focuses on not upskirting but actually has a touching story at the heart of it. Gal Gun Double Peace is definitely more smutty than romantic but has some good gameplay. There are other smut games but I’m not going to recommend them as they are all pretty poop and you can see boobies anywhere.

For simple romance nothing beats Steins; Gate and Chaos; Child which have breathtakingly excellent stories as well as very well developed characters. My next two recommendation are a little controversial but I enjoyed Psycho Pass: Mandatory Happiness for the choices actually mattering and an engaging story even if it was hampered by repetition. Pantsu Hunter is an absolute buggy mess but I haven’t laughed so hard at a game in ages and I genuinely liked the girls. I’ll add in A Winter’s Daydream. It was short and sweet but a nice tale.

Otome/ Hetero Girls

*Cracks knuckles* Strap in. We may be here a while.

Collar X Malice and the Psychedelia series are both critically acclaimed and very good. I prefer the later, which made me cry more than once, but the protagonist of the first is a gem. I would also throw 7s Carlet in the top tier with a delectable small time missing brother mystery, though I know not everyone agrees. Bad Apple Wars doesn’t have much choice but made me emotional several times, and has one of the absolute strongest casts of suitors. Norn 9 is also widely acclaimed but I haven’t had the chance to dive it yet.

Amnesia: Memories is very popular but on the lower tier for me with that tired old “if I sex her she’ll love me forever” trope. London Detective Mysteria is good overall but each story was too long and not really interconnected so I wasn’t encouraged to do multiple playthroughs. The Hakuoki games are also big hits generally, but for me features too many suitors for me to connect with any of them. Period Cube is another meh title which I am not desperate to recommend. The art is a little shakey for me and the scenarios a little weak.

Wow look at all those romance games! Explains why I don’t feel so alone.

2 thoughts on “PlayStation Vita Recommends – Romance

  1. kresnik258gaming says:

    Great idea for an article. I still need to play Sweet Fuse some day, will get to it soon since I never hear anything but praise for it. Also nice to see someone finally recognise Root Letter as a gorgeous experience – the art and atmosphere in that game is sublime.

    Just seen on one of the other blogs I follow that Blind Men is an LGBT friendly VN. Haven’t played it but it did make me think that decent representation between Bishojo/Otome/Yuri (albeit could be better in all these areas) but maybe not so much elsewhere.

    Like

Leave a comment