Demon’s Tier+

People who have been fans of Vita Paradisa from conception with know the Xenon Valkyrie + was one of my first reviews on here and I enjoyed it a whole lot. I’m a fan of both of its genres: rogue like and metroidvania.  Then came Riddled Corpses DX a rogue-lite like Xenon but instead combined with twin stick shooter action. Another very pleasant experience but required A LOT of grinding in order to be able to beat it. So when I heard that Demon’s Tier+ the third in the trilogy would be a mix of both of the games, I didn’t see how it would work. But it just does.

It’s procedurally generated like Xenon Valkyrie+ and you have the chance to level up your stats at the end of each level, losing all of those buffs if you die. There is an interesting mechanic where you can quit with your currency to buy new characters here. Making it easier for those who a struggling. It’s also a twin stick shooter like Riddled Corpses DX where you can quickly get overwhelmed. 

The key question is always is Demon’s Tier+ fun? And it definitely is. It’s worth your time and your money too. It definitely improves Riddled Corpses DX but is it better than Xenon Valkyrie+; a game I adored? That’s the question that’s still puzzling me.

See when I first played Demon’s Tier+ I played it feverishly with that JUST ONE MORE GO mentality which addicts often develop. However, I beat it on my third try. It took me 2 hours to beat the first tier of the demon. For comparison Xenon and Riddled pushed me much closer to 20. But my favourite rogue-like of all time The Binding of Issac while taking a lot more than 3 tries saw me beat Mom in about 6 hours. As with many Rogue-likes the first ending isn’t really the end. And it isn’t in Demon’s Tier+ either.

So I get my new buffed up character and send her down into tier 2 (which from what it seems is identical to tier 1 except maybe the enemies can take a few more hits) and there is nothing more passed the final boss. I know this because I beat Tier 2 on my first try. And I went straight back in to tier 3 which also seems to be the same but with a 10x damage bonus to attacks on you, and careless use of potions saw me die on floor 12/15 and I knew I could definitely finish that tier if I wanted to. But I didn’t. At this point it seemed like a waste.

Maybe over the years I have got better at video games. Maybe the average Joe wouldn’t find it as easy as I did, but Demon’s Tier+ does everything so absolutely right from a level design to a game play stand point, I was just hungry for more. More added to the second tier. I deeper cavern in the third. Different ways of completing caverns with different characters. Something. What can I say I’m a rogue-like addict. I can never get enough of a good thing.

My code was provided as courtesy.  

2 thoughts on “Demon’s Tier+

Leave a comment